You must be 16 or over to participate in the Brickset Forum. Please read the announcements and rules before you join.

LEGO vs legos

bkprbkpr Texas, USAMember Posts: 294
edited January 2012 in Everything else LEGO
I don't know why, for some reason I can't help to see 'Legos' as incorrect when referring to the plural of Lego. In fact, when I talk/write about Lego, a single piece to me is a *piece* of Lego (or a Lego brick), the plural of which is pieces of Lego. The collective noun (?) to me is *Lego*, as in a box of Lego, as opposed to a box of Legos.

I'm not having a go at anyone,of course, I just find it interesting that many people use *Legos*, while others use *Lego*. Is there an official way to say it? Lego style guide or something?

BTW, I'm no expert when it comes to spelling, grammar, or language (although I'll fight for the serial/Oxford comma till the death ;)
zipsforbananasfatmui11

Comments

• prof1515prof1515 EarthMember Posts: 1,554
    Lego used to print a little statement regarding this topic on the old pamphlet catalogs that came in larger sets. Basically, they said that Lego is the brand name and Legos is incorrect usage. Lego, Lego bricks, Lego blocks or Lego toys are all correct; Legos is not.
    tedwardzipsforbananas
  • oldtodd33oldtodd33 Denver 4800 miles to BillundMember Posts: 1,766
    Unless you live in the U.S as I do.
    The_Mad_Vulcan
    Unless you live in the U.S as I do.
    Pardon? Not all Americans have subpar language skills. :-P

tedwardBrickman
    I was referring to the other discussion in another thread. But, still to me it doesn't matter. As long as you don't call them MB.
  • jwsmartjwsmart Member Posts: 298
    edited July 2011
    @prof1515 - They still publish something like that, but it's online now (the link to the PDF is busted), and aimed at fan sites: http://aboutus.lego.com/en-us/corporate/fairplay.aspx
    Worth a read if you've never read it before.