Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.
You must be 16 or over to participate in the Brickset Forum. Please read the announcements and rules before you join.

Robot clubs

EvilTwinEvilTwin UKMember Posts: 61
Hello

Today's articles about the Boost set (#17101) made me think about something I have had in the back of my mind for a while.

I work in IT education and I've been fortunate enough to be involved in some projects where I have used Lego as part of the courses I teach. Now I have a bunch of Mindstorms kits (amongst other stuff) which is currently not being used. What I am wondering is how I can use all the Mindstorms gear I have, plus my training background and ninja programming skills (ahem), to contribute to the programming expertise of future generations.

I know that many schools have robot labs or after-school robot and/or more general computing clubs (Huw of Brickset mentioned he participates in one, in one of the Boost articles), and I know that there are some independent robot clubs and companies that run courses for kids, then there is First Lego League and so on. What I don't really know is how widespread these things are, or what parents think of them. 

Of course I can find out tons of stuff online, but I would be interested to hear Bricksetters' thoughts. If you are a parent- do your kids attend a club (at school or outside) where they use robots to teach programming? Do you join in yourself? Do your kids enjoy it and does it help them with other school subjects such as science? If your kids don't currently participate in such activities, would you be interested in something like a robot club if there was one in your area?

p.s. of course I know that the first rule of robot club is that we don't talk about robot club :)

Comments