Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.
You must be 16 or over to participate in the Brickset Forum. Please read the announcements and rules before you join.

Lego Newbie - please could someone help me with what to buy...

LegovirginLegovirgin UKMember Posts: 4
edited April 13 in Collecting
I'm new to buying Lego.  Purchased the large classic box for an 8 year old as he had never had Lego before (he doesn't live in the UK) & he's loving it but now wants to be able to build more but the items are quite basic blocks.  I thought I could just keep buying different styles of 'large box' & build up a collection so he had a good selection of basics & more interesting & technical parts, but it seems that everything is to buy to build a specific thing.  I now don't know what to get next.  I'm guessing the 'City' sets seem quite general but does anyone have any advice/guide me in the right direction?
Many thanks. 

Comments

• ScatterbugScatterbug WalesMember Posts: 56
    I'd go with buying sets he likes. Once built and tired of them, break them down and add to his inventory. Soon enough he'll have a varied, sizeable collection of parts.

Also keep an eye on 3 for 2 offers such as the recent one by Tesco as an opportunity to buy a lot of bricks.
  • LegovirginLegovirgin UKMember Posts: 4
    Thanks Scatterbug.
    I thought that's what I'd need to do.  He's not really into Star wars or Super Heroes etc, which made me think 'City' would maybe work as he has a good imagination to play/design new items.      
  • legomentallegomental UkMember Posts: 291
    Just buy everything!

No seriously I'd take him to a decent lego or toy shop and let him look and see what he likes then look for the offers such as tesco 3 for 2
    Bumblepantsjosekalel