Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.
You must be 16 or over to participate in the Brickset Forum. Please read the announcements and rules before you join.

How do I get ideas for an MOC ?

LaserBeakDuckLaserBeakDuck San Antonio, TexasMember Posts: 9
I want to do an MOC but I am TERRIBLE at coming up with ideas and even worse at translating it into Lego bricks. Do you guys have any tips for if I am new to MOCs?

Comments

• dougtsdougts Oregon, USAMember Posts: 4,098
    So you are lacking two of the three essential elements MOC making.
    josekalel
  • dougtsdougts Oregon, USAMember Posts: 4,098
     Well now that's annoying I had three long paragraphs that all disappeared when I hit the post comment button 
  • BillyBricks84BillyBricks84 United StatesMember Posts: 247
    What helped me finally dive into making a few MOCs was the monthly building contests on this site, actually. They gave me a topic and created a set time for building so there was some pressure and I couldn't just put it off. Also, the expectation isn't that you will create some 1,000+ piece design so it is definitely manageable.
    SalamalexJennicatwrangler
  • LaserBeakDuckLaserBeakDuck San Antonio, TexasMember Posts: 9
    edited April 26

dougts said:

So you are lacking two of the three essential elements MOC making.

Yes I am. That creates a big problem for me. haha
  • MrJacksonMrJackson Member Posts: 112
    What are you trying to MOC? Let's start there. 
    City? Space? Castle? Real-world items (life-sized models of cell phones, things you'd find in an office, stationary, etc)? Scale models?