Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.
You must be 16 or over to participate in the Brickset Forum. Please read the announcements and rules before you join.

Why is model 10210 so expensive?

GachanGachan Member Posts: 4
Hello folks!
I've been amassing quite the collection of LEGOs for a few years now, and I'm used to seeing high and low prices for different models, usually following the same trend: models sporting awesomeness and vintageness fetch very high prices, I get that. But that ship, super awesome that it is, is really not ancient by any means. So why are the sets I can find always between 400 to 700$/€, when the Sea Barracuda, having more or less half as many parts and being super awesome itself, is easily found at around 100 bucks under the same conditions? (I don't care about boxes and booklets.)
What am I missing here? Should I wait and hope for a cheaper bargain, or is that set super rare or something?
Thank you all in advance for any answer or pointer :)
Cheers!

Comments

• CCCCCC UKMember Posts: 15,101
    Supply vs demand.

It is the best ship that lego have done. People want it and are willing to pay for it.
    MAGNINOMINISUMBRAmadforLEGO
  • MAGNINOMINISUMBRAMAGNINOMINISUMBRA Member Posts: 687
    As CCC said - supply vs demand.  The IF was a VERY short lived set.  For example, here in Australia the IF was released at the same time as Tower Bridge!  One is still available today, the other was available for less than 90 days before all stocks were exhausted.  As far as recommendations go, unless you're willing to roll the dice and hope you'll snag a bargain from some unsuspecting seller - I would be picking it up sooner rather than later as it will only to continue to appreciate in value.
  • CCCCCC UKMember Posts: 15,101
    edited June 28