Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.
You must be 16 or over to participate in the Brickset Forum. Please read the announcements and rules before you join.

Bricklink "New User Guide"?

haydukehayduke PhiladelphiaMember Posts: 9
Hey all, I'm pretty new to Bricklink and looking for some advice on how to maximize my purchase power there. I've purchased a number of lots from a decent number of stores but realizing I'm getting crushed by all shipping fees. Curious if there's some better strategies someone can give advice on.

For example, right now I'm looking for 23 lots, but from seller to seller the price is anywhere from $23 to $107. $23 being a European seller, which is fine but I have no idea how to handle customs and gauge shipping and tracking. I'm sure someone has written up advice and strategies for buyers.

BTW, I know Bricklink has their own forum but you have been so helpful (to a lurker so far) in getting me started on this hobby that I figured I'd ask here first.

Comments

• CCCCCC UKMember Posts: 15,098
    Obviously the more you can buy from a single seller helps to cut down on shipping costs, so long as they are selling at reasonable prices.

Are you using wants lists? If not, start using them!

If doing it manually, normally it is best to start looking at the rare / expensive parts first, find the best value seller that has the most expensive part(s) you need, then fill up your cart with the other parts you need that he has, and so on.

It is also worth checking can you substitute expensive parts for cheaper ones. This might mean using 2 2x1 bricks instead of a 1x4, or using a cheaper colour if they are available and the one you really wanted is crazy expensive.

You should be fine for customs importing to the US from Europe (it is US -> UK/Europe where we pay!)