Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.
You must be 16 or over to participate in the Brickset Forum. Please read the announcements and rules before you join.

How to build your parts inventory?

mss2503amss2503a United StatesMember Posts: 4
Hi Everyone,

I'm Mandeep. This is my first post in this forum. I'm looking for some tips from you guys.

I'm a novice lego builder, with only a few lego sets (a few small technics & a mindstorm nxt 2). I'm fascinated by lego technic vehicles, especially the motorized ones (example of builder I admire is - madoca1977 (youtube handle)).

The first hurdle I hit when trying to build something, is the lack of parts. Eg: I was looking at the front suspension of my vehicle with 2 spring shocks. However, I only have one of those from my 8066 set. How do I get more shock absorber parts? Do people buy std lego sets for parts or do they look at ebay and the likes for custom parts (like I found someone selling 4 shocks & a few gears on ebay).

I've seen lego builders have so many bricks/joints/gears etc, I always wondered if they are scavenging regualr lego sets for parts or do they just order specific parts in bulk (and from whom)? I don't see lego officially selling just parts alone.

Thanks for your time.

Regards,
-mandeep

Comments

• ShibShib UKMember Posts: 4,385
    Ebay tends to be expensive for individual parts - try bricklink.com

also LEGO do sell individual parts online either as pick a brick which tends to have little inventory or bricks and pieces which is a little more difficult to find on the site (reach it through customer service page) however they close that service this time of year to add new parts, should reopen in February I think.